*jumps on the bandwagon*

Okay, let’s talk about Maiiki. I’m not going to put the little asterisks in, because a) I will probably screw it up, and b) you all know what I’m talking about (Just in case you’ve been living under a prim rock for the past week or so, it’s the new label from Onyx Leshelle and Beauvoir Rousselot of Maitreya and Iki Ikarus of Dutch Touch).

I know everyone and their dog has already talked about this, but they all seem to be blogging about the same outfit. The Poof and Puff outfit. Yes, I love it too, but that’s not what I’m here to talk about. I’m here to talk about the amazing detail on the Striped strapless outfit, and the awesome sculpty high-waisted belt.Hair by ETD, Skin by Redgrave

This is completely different than my usual look, and I’m loving it. I was complaining recently to Aya about how I’ve been so bored with shopping in SL lately. I know, I never thought I would admit that, but if I see one more babydoll dress or halter top, I’m going to scream. And then, the very next day, Maiiki was released! It was like the shopping Gods had heard my pleas for help! I rushed right over to the Glam World sim to see the goodies. It’s exactly what I’ve been craving. Something new, different and GOOD QUALITY. The great thing about this outfit (and all of the outfits) is that you can mix and match the different parts. Case in point, this outfit comes with shorts and leggings, but I love these pants from Mimikri so much that I couldn’t bear to take them off. Turns out, they go perfectly. And dude (yes, I said “dude”) look at the cute little detail on the gloves!

Now here’s the thing that’s on everyone’s mind. The price. It’s a bit high, I will admit. In fact, I wish I could go back for more, but frankly, my linden balance just won’t let me (nor will my husband! :P). I’ve talked with Onyx Leshelle and she is aware of the complaints, and is frankly getting a bit upset by them. So here’s my take on the issue: [EDIT: Onyx has left a nice comment to this post that better explains her position. So don’t listen to me, go read what she wrote! 🙂 ]

First off, look at all the possibilities with these outfits. You get the clothes on every layer you can imagine, all the prims come in 2 different sizes so they’re pretty much guaranteed to fit. You can mix and match them with other pieces, and use all the different styles, i.e short pants or leggings. That’s like 5 outfits in one purchase. I’d say that’s worth the price, wouldn’t you? Plus, as Onyx pointed out, people spend twice as much as that on one dress at Nicky Ree and all you get is a top, pants and a prim skirt. I’d say it’s definitely worth it.

However, my issue with paying that much is this: There’s no guarantee that you’ll like the outfit once you get it, since it’s quite hard to judge just from a picture. I’m a little leery of blindly spending 500L on an outfit I haven’t tried on. Many stores are starting to offer demos for this reason. I think that if Maiiki offered their products as a demo first, and people could see the outfits first and THEN fall in love with them, they wouldn’t be so upset about forking over the lindens. I know I wouldn’t. After my discussion with Onyx Leshelle, I truly believe that she is considering this idea, but you didn’t hear that from me, and she isn’t making any promises. But please people, stop bitching about the prices. Designers have feelings too! 😛

And hey, don’t I look fabulous? Like a million L’s, instead of only 500! 🙂

~ by kristimaurer on June 19, 2008.

2 Responses to “*jumps on the bandwagon*”

  1. Hi kristi, thanks for your nice post!! I just thought I might explain myself a little better. What I was trying to say is that it surprised me to read that people thought maiiki was so extremely expensive, because I never heard anything like that about all the stores that sell gowns for instance, or other special outfits (as contrare to separates). A high quality gown can cost twice the amount we charge for a complete outfit, and those in many cases don’t have half the amount of items and options included. I by that didn’t mean to say that i thought those other outfits are too expensive. Just meant that I didn’t see the difference like appearantly others do. Why a perfectly beautiful gown of 1000L is a fair price and a complete maiiki outfit containing around 5-10 items (sculpted gloves, pants, socks etc all intended for mixing and matching to add to your complete wardrobe, not just add one outfit to it) for 425 to 550 L was perceived as ‘rediculously expensive’. It just confused me a bit.
    I’d also like to state that we’ve received way more enthousiastic and praising responses so I really don’t want to complain about the responses (on the contrary). The responses we read and received were overwhelmingly great and shy-making at times, most often even said by the same persons that commented on the pricing btw. ❤

  2. Onyx, thanks for clearing all that up. I thought that I said basically the same thing, but I’m glad you said something. I prefer to have things straight from the horses mouth, so to speak, so that people can’t take what I say out of context. And I have to also say, I completely agree with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
