Cocktails anyone?

Well, it’s mid-summer, and the party invites are coming from all directions. But oh, what to wear? You can’t be buying a new dress for every party (but man, wouldn’t that be fun?) so I’m going to tell you about 2 little dresses that are so sexy and short that nobody will notice (or mind) that you’ve worn it twice, because they’ll be too busy staring at your…well, let’s just say legs. Or, as a certain friend of mine, who’s name won’t be mentioned to protect the dirty-minded, said to me “I’m sorry Kristi, I wasn’t listening to what you were saying because I was too busy staring at your ass.” Well, at least he’s honest. 😉

First is the Blaze ‘Crush’ dress, by the always talented Blaze Columbia ( http://slurl.com/secondlife/Blaze/68/118/23 ). This lady knows how to dress a woman (and a man too, if you’ve seen her suits!) and we thank her for that. And because of the length of this skirt, our men thank her too.

Now, if you prefer to leave a little more to the imagination, this dress is perfect in that it comes on every layer for mix and matching. You can add leggings (like I did with the new capris from Decoy), you can add a jacket (also from Decoy), you can wear just the top, or just the bottom, or just wear it by it’s self. It’s a versatile little dress that comes in many colours, perfect for all those summer parties. It’s definitely my go-to dress when I get a TP and need to dress FABULOUS in a hurry. 🙂

The next dress that I have recently discovered is from !Yuli ( http://slurl.com/secondlife/Sina/176/186/22 ). Yuli is a sweet french designer whom I discovered ages ago when I was a newbie. I had kind of forgotten about her until recently when she came out with A TON of new releases, each one better than the next. She specializes in cocktail and party dresses, so if you’re looking for something to wear for an evening out, !Yuli’s got it covered. My favourite is her new “Alyssa” dress.

Again, this dress can be dressed up, or dressed down, and comes in all the colours you see here. It has the cutest little chest ruffle and skirt, and each dress comes with a matching beaded necklace of the same colour (I’m wearing the purple with all of these but only because I forgot to take it off). This is the type of dress that in RL would require you to wear ‘Spanx’ because it is so form fitting. But hey, in SL, form-fitting usually = sexy, am I right? And also, if you’re really feeling like taking some fashion risks, you can mix and match the ruffle colours! See what works for you!

This is just one of the amazing dresses that Yuli makes, so be sure to check out her entire store (it’s pretty big) for all the goodies.

I also have one other thing I’d like to bring up. I read the Fashion feeds religiously, and I’ve been keeping up with all the latest issues and complaints that people seem to have. The one complaint I hear the most often is people bitching about the quality of photos on blogs. They say they are too “pixelated” and amateur looking. Well, yes, I can agree with that, and as an SL photographer myself, I notice all the little imperfections. HOWEVER, I hope you don’t base my photography talent on my blog pics, (check out my flickr instead, please) because I, too, don’t edit my photos much. It’s not that I can’t, or don’t want to (it pains me to not fix all the bad edges in Photoshop!), but it’s because of the other complaint I hear the most. That’s the “I hate when designers photoshop a picture of their outfit to make it look good and then when you buy it, it’s nothing like in the picture” complaint. I also agree with this, and it is a legitimate complaint, which is why I don’t over-process my blog pictures. I want to show the outfit or item exactly as it looks in-world, so you will not be disappointed when you buy it. I may change the backgrounds a bit, but I always leave the outfit looking almost exactly as it does on an av. So my question is this:

What do you people want? You bitch and complain about both things so much that it’s discouraging to both designers and bloggers, and hell, it’s confusing! Do you want nice, pretty pictures to look at, or do you want the truth so you know what you’re buying? You can’t have both, so what’s it going to be?

I know this question is kind of rhetorical, since I know we won’t all come to a consensus, but feel free to leave comments and discuss this amongst yourselves. I’d be interested in hearing some other feelings on this issue. 🙂

Peace,

-Kristi Maurer

~ by kristimaurer on July 20, 2008.

5 Responses to “Cocktails anyone?”

  1. * coughs* Blaze is a woman… *coughs*

    BTW, great post. I love those dresses! 🙂

  2. Your pic are not pixelized in the feed and in your blog.

  3. Marie, really? Hmm…everyone has always told me it was a him! lol my bad!

    Ana, I try to make them less pixelated, but they still aren’t as good as they could be. And I was more talking about other blogs as well as mine. 🙂

  4. I’m all about showing what you really get. I love pretty pictures but I have plenty of flikr pages I can go to to see that 🙂 I think your pictures are perfect. ❤ Ani

  5. Kristi negleted to mention that she is an incrediable SL photographer and she was well before she was a style GURU.

    Kristi is very talented at keeping the quality of the clothing while removing the pesky pixels that are not as wonderfully pleasing to the eye.

    Nice work, dear as always.

    *huggles*

Leave a Reply

 
