Puttin’ on the Glitz

Recently, I was chilling at Armidi (I know, big surprise, right?) and I received an IM from a relatively new skin creator, Dagmar Bernard of *Glitz* asking if I wanted to review her skin line. Of course, I’m never one to pass up offers like that, so I said yes. She sent me one her newer lines, Scarlett (based off Scarlett Johansen) and I went to her store and picked one of her older lines in the medium tone.

Now, to me, these skins look really familiar, and that makes me nervous. With all the stuff going down lately, it’s sad that people are so paranoid, and I’ve falled victim to said paranoia. A new skin creator is suspicious lately, and that’s upsetting, but I always choose to give people the benefit of the doubt. That being said, I really like the skins. You be the judge.

The Medium Tone:

The Scarlett Line:

Now, to me, these have a kind of cross between Minnu and Redgrave vibe going on, which could just be my imagination and from the effect of seeing them on EVERYONE on the grid and on flickr (What is up with that anyway?). But as you can see, there are some really nice makeups included, instead of just your standard smokey eye and natural lip, which seems to be the norm nowadays. Now, I’m not knocking it, since I even do it in RL, but sometimes you want a change, am I right? I mean, sometimes I just want to match my eyes to my shoes! I know I’m not the only one, right ladies?

Anyway, the lighting and the shadows on these skins are top notch, giving you that pretty feminine glow that we all secretly crave. However, if I’m being honest, the hands could use some more detail, and there is a little bit of a nipple issue (no pics, this is a family show :P) in that the nipples are…well, a little LARGE. My friend Cheyn Lane (AWESOME pose maker!) even said “I wouldn’t touch them”, so if you’re looking to get naked, these skins aren’t for you. But if that’s not an issue for you and you just want a really pretty feminine face, definitely go check out *Glitz* ( http://slurl.com/secondlife/Victoria%20Seychelles/181/111/25 ). Her new line features skins based on celebs like Mischa Barton, Tyra Banks, and others. She’s just getting started, but I predict good things for this girl in the future. 🙂

-Kristi Maurer

~ by kristimaurer on July 25, 2008.

4 Responses to “Puttin’ on the Glitz”

  1. I don’t know about the rest of the face, but it looks like she photosourced those lips from the same place Laqroki did for their Tasha skin. That’s why it looks familiar to you, so many are also wearing that skin right now.
    It’s just having the same sources, nothing wrong with that.

    I agree, very pretty skins!

  2. You’re probably right, Bex. I even have the Tasha skins, so that’s probably where I’ve seen them before. Thanks 😀

  3. There are only so many large, front on celebrity face shots out there on the internets, trust me, I’ve spent hours and hours pouring over the few shots I could find for reference. If skinmakers all use the same photosources, their skins will end up all looking the same. And everyone who wears them will also look the same. /shrug

  4. Yeah Siddean, I get that. It will be interesting to see if anyone can come up with a solution, otherwise there won’t be any room for new skin designers in SL.

Leave a Reply

 
